Board notes

The Organizational Meeting of the Wheelersburg Local School District Board of Education was held prior to the January 11, 2017 regular Board meeting.

  • Matthew Miller was elected president and Ben Gill was elected vice-president. Scott Jolly was elected OSBA Legislative Liaison for 2017.
  • Jonathan Eaton was elected OSBA Student Achievement Liaison for 2017. The Board adopted the Tax Budget for Fiscal Year 2018.
  • The Board set the regular meeting dates for 2017 as the fourth Monday of each month at 6:00 PM.
  • The Board approved standing authorizations as submitted.

The following business was conducted at the regular meeting following the Organizational Board Meeting.

  • Special Recognition was given to the following:
  • Jeb Thompson – 3rd grade student who was instrumental in sending spirit t-shirts to less fortunate students in other local schools
  • Davis Bowling – 7th grade student who was instrumental in establishing a coat drive
  • Wheelersburg Middle School Spelling Bee winners 6th – 8th Grade Winner – Serena Kataria 6th – 8th Grade Runner-up – Kate Gilmore 4th – 5th Grade Winner – Signy Morris 4th – 5th Grade Runner-up – Christopher Hamilton
  • Wheelersburg Middle School Science Fair winners Co-Grand Champions – Serena Kataria and Andrew Brown 6th – 8th Grade 1st Place – Rachel Davenport 5th Grade 1st Place – Jace Boyer
  • WHS Girls’ Tennis Team, SOC Champions Tom Carter, SOC Coach of the Year
  • Lea Wright, SOC Player of the Year
  • WHS Girls’ Soccer Team, SOC Champions, District Champions
  • Todd Jarvis, Girls’ Soccer, SOC Coach of the Year
  • Christen Risner, Girls’ Soccer, SOC Co-Player of the Year
  • Morgan Willoughby, Girls’ Soccer, SOC Co-Player of the Year, 2nd Team All-Ohio
  • WHS Volleyball Team, SOC II Champions Kendra Coleman, SOC II Coach of the Year Ellie Ruby, SOC II Defensive Player of the Year

  • WHS Football Team, SOC II Champions Rob Woodward, SOC II Co-Coach of the Year, District Co-Coach of the Year Keaton Newsome, SOC II Back of the Year, 2nd Team All-Ohio Offensive Back Clint Hatfield, SOC II Lineman of the Year, Special Mention All-Ohio Mack Dyer, Southeastern Ohio Division V Offensive Player of the Year, 1st Team All-Ohio Quarterback Daylor Lewis, 2nd Team All-Ohio Kicker Xander Carmichael, 2nd Team All-Ohio Linebacker Tanner Bivens, Special Mention All-Ohio Lyden Collins, Special Mention All-Ohio.

Approval of minutes of the November 28, 2016 Regular Board Meeting was followed by the treasurer’s recommendations:

  • Approval of the November 2016 and December 2016 Financial Reports
  • Accepted donations from the Wheelersburg Athletic Association, Bruce Parsley, Nancy Stegman, SOMC, Wal-Mart, Crum Brothers Dairy Farm, DESCO Federal Credit Union, Exline Surveying, Inc., Hanes Chevrolet and Deemers, Inc. Superintendent’s recommendations included the following:
  • Employment of substitute teachers
  • Employment of substitute support staff
  • Employment of a bus driver
  • Approval of a Leave of Absence Approval of META Resolution
  • Approval of OSBA 2017 Legal Assistance Fund Membership
  • Approval of two resolutions
  • Approval of a supplemental contract

The next Board of Education meeting will be held February 27, 2017 at 6:00 PM at the Board Office on Center Street.