First-time moments at PRP


After years of trying, longtime Late Model driver Nick Bocook recorded his first-ever PRP win. Tony DeHart returned to winner’s circle in the Modifieds. Limited Late Model driver Jacob Curnutte scored his very first career feature win. Sport Mod competitor Emily Jordan became just the second female ever to win a PRP feature and Shane Pendleton won for the second straight week in the Bombers.

The plot within the Giovanni’s Pizza Late Model Division took a dramatic twist early on, as R.J. Conley experienced engine problems just feet after crossing the line to record his final qualifying lap. Conley wound up setting quick time, but the four-time track champ’s mechanical issues would sideline him for the remainder of the night.

His depature helped open the door for what proved to be an extremely competitive race in the Late Model A-Main.

Delmas Conley looked to be the man to beat in the early goings. The 74-year-old legend led the first 16 laps of the 25-lap feature and was ahead by a half-straightaway at one point in the race.

Nick Bocook started third and would ride there until passing his brother Josh for second on lap 8. Nick then began reeling in race leader Delmas Conley and would eventually pass him on lap 17.

Conley wouldn’t go down without a fight though as he fought back on the outside to retake the lead on lap 20. Nick Bocook then got back around him on lap 21 and would hold on for his first PRP victory in 16 years of trying.

Finshing behind Nick Bocook and Delmas Conley were Kenny Howell, Josh Bocook, and Kenny Christy. Audie Swartz, Jake Keaton, Ben Adkins, Ralph Withem, and Austyn Mills rounded out the top 10.

The outcome of the R.W. Rental and Supplies Modified Feature was a sweet one for Frankline Furnace’s Tony DeHart. The four-time PRP track champ returned to winner’s circle for the first time in a few years and looked as smoothe as ever. What made this one extra special is that DeHart got the win on Father’s Day Weekend after losing his own father less than two months ago.

For quite awhile, it appeared as if Ervin Vance was going to win his third consecutive PRP feature. He posted the fast time during time trials, started on the pole, led the first 18 laps of the 20-lap feature, and jumped all the way out to a full straightaway lead. However, something

would happen to Vance’s car in the closing laps. Sparks began to fly from the P20 and it began to slow.

Vance would hold on for a top 5 finish, but his mishap paved the way for DeHart to take the checkers. David McWilliams, Eric Hatfield, Adam Colley, and Ervin Vance made up the rest of the top 5 with Josh Stumbo, Brianna Robinson, Brandon Smith, Justin Cooper, and Joey Back rounding out the top 10. Back was the Markwest Ranger Pipeline Hard Charger advancing nine positions.

The result of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late Model A-Main had quite a touching story as well. Jacob Curnutte of Lavalette, WV led every lap en route to picking up his very first feature win at PRP or anywhere else for that matter.

Even though it was Father’s Day Weekend, Curnutte took time in victory lane to remember his mother who passed within the past year.

Minford’s racing Whitt family had quite a night, as son Ronnie ran second with his dad Joe placing third. Billy Staker, Cameron Logan, Mike Meyers, Duane Pick, Randy Ross, Danny McGowan, and Chris Lockhart made up the rest of the top 10.

The Sport Mod Division was owned by two young ladies, 21-year-old Emily Jordan from South Webster and 17-year-old Brianna Robinson from Coal Grove. Each won their respective heats. They started the feature first and second and would finish in the same order.

Jordan led all 15 laps to become just the second female to capture a feature win in the 26-year history of Portsmouth Raceway Park with Modified driver Brandi Taylor being the other.

Robinson ran second the entire race capping a great night after she had already finished seventh in the Modified A-Main.

Brian Sammons, Jr., Billy Baldridge, and Eric Wade rounded out the top 5 in the Sport Mods with Weston Crosby, Robert Lunsford, Cody Gifford, Chris Shelton, Jr., and Danny Hamilton, Jr. closing out the top 10.

The M & M Inflatables Bomber Division brought more dominance than drama as Stout’s Zack Pendleton won for the second week in a row. The two-time reigning track champion held off his father Shane to take the win. Rick Butler, Conard Newman, Justin Jaynes, Wayne Hughes, Mike Drake, Kasey Black, Frankie King, and David Whitt made up the rest of the top 10.

Portsmouth Raceway Park will return to action this coming Saturday hosting Vallery Chevrolet Kids Night. All children ages 12 and under will receive free general admission. The evening will feature a full program with Giovanni’s Pizza Late Models, R.W. Rental and

Supplies Modifieds, O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Lates, Sport Mods, M & M Inflatables Bombers, as well as Ohio Valley Roofers Legends Cars.

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

Sports Release

No posts to display