OHSAA moves Minford down

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

Alex Hider

[email protected]

After two seasons of playing in Division IV, the Falcons are moving down.

Minford has been reclassified as a Division V football school by the OHSAA, according to a press release by the administration.

After years of competing in Division V, Minford saw a swell in its male student population prior to the 2013 school year. With over 200 boys attending the school, the Falcons were forced to move up to Division IV for the 2013 and 2014 football seasons. While playing a schedule full of D-V conference opponents, Minford missed the playoffs in both seasons.

Two years later, Minford’s male enrollment has dipped back down to 180. Now back in their traditional division, Minford will receive more Harbin computer points this season when playing conference opponents. Harbin points determine playoff seeding, and are based on opponents’ record, strength of schedule and division.

Minford will return to playing in Region 17, along with Scioto County rivals West, Wheelersburg, Northwest and Portsmouth.

“It’s definitely a good thing,” Minford football coach Brent Daniels told the Daily Times when asked about a potential drop in May. “We’re a Division V (football) school, not a Division IV school.”

Minford will no longer be the largest school in the SOC. That distinction now belongs to Waverly, who has been reclassified as a Division IV school. The high school’s male enrollment increased by about 20 students, pushing the Tigers from Division V to Division IV. Waverly will compete in Region 13, which covers D-IV schools in southeastern Ohio.

The OHSAA also released its playoff schedule for the 2015 season on Tuesday. Divisions II, III, V and VII will play its playoff games on Fridays at 7:30, and Divisions I, IV and VI will play on Saturdays at 7. As in the past, high seeds will host the first round of the playoffs, and the OHSAA will select neutral sites for the second, third and fourth rounds. State championships will again be played at Ohio Stadium in Columbus.

Reach Alex Hider at 740-353-3101 ext. 1931 or on Twitter @PDTSportsWriter

No posts to display