Commissioners races highlight November election


The two Scioto County Commissioners races will highlight the ballot on Nov. 8, as two Democratic challengers go up against two Republican incumbents. Former Portsmouth strong-mayor David Malone, a Democrat, will be running against Republican Doug Coleman, while Portsmouth First Ward Councilman Kevin W. Johnson will be running on the Democrat ticket against long-time Commissioner Mike Crabtree.

Another race that is sure to draw interest is the Scioto County Sheriff’s race pitting New Boston Police Captain Steve Goins, a Democrat against incumbent Republican Marty V. Donini.

Scioto County Engineer Craig Opperman, a Democrat, will get opposition from Republican Darren LeBrun.

Gail Alley, the Democratic Scioto County Recorder is unopposed, while William Ogg, the Democratic Scioto County Treasurer, is also unopposed, as is Mark Kuhn, a Republican, who will return as Scioto County Prosecutor, Lisa Novinger, the Republican incumbent Scioto County Clerk of Courts and current Scioto County Coroner, Dr. Darren Adams, a Republican.

The Fourth District Court of Appeals covers 14 counties, and the incumbent Republican Judge Matthew McFarland is being challenged by local Democratic attorney Valarie K. Gerlach.

Incumbent Republican State Senator for Ohio’s 14th District, Joe Uecker is challenged by Charlie Carlier, a Democrat. Terry Johnson, the current State Representative for Ohio’s 90th District, a Republican, will be taking on Democratic candidate Tara Cordle.

Another race that has drawn widespread attention is the one for the U.S. Senate. Incumbent Republican Senator Rob Portman is being challenged by Scioto County native, former Ohio Governor and U.S. Representative, Ted Strickland. Also running for that seat are non-party candidates Tom Connors and Rupert Scott and Green Party candidate Joseph DeMare.

There are two U.S. House districts in Scioto County, with incumbent Republican Brad Wenstrup taking on Democratic candidate William R. Smith in the Second District, and Republican incumbent Bill Johnson being challenged by Democrat Michael L. Lorentz in the Sixth District.

Rounding out the local ballot will be presidential candidates Hillary Clinton for the Democratic Party and Donald Trump on the Republican side.

These may not be the only names for each of these offices on the November ballot.

“The deadline for filing is 4 p.m. Aug. 10,” Beth Malone of the Scioto County Board of Elections, said. “So we won’t know everything that will be on until then. Then, the Board has to approve any petition. You have to certify that for a final decision of what’s on.”

By Frank Lewis

[email protected]

Reach Frank Lewis at 740-353-3101, ext. 1928, or on Twitter @franklewis.

No posts to display