Six from OSHP Jackson District receive awards


By Frank Lewis

[email protected]

Six troopers from the Jackson District of the Ohio State Highway Patrol were recipients of the 2015 third quarter Criminal Patrol Award.

The OSHP announced the recipients of their Ace and Criminal Patrol Awards on Monday. The recipients were honored with the Ace Award or Criminal Patrol Award at a ceremony held at the Patrol’s Training Academy today by Colonel Paul A. Pride, Patrol superintendent. Pride said troopers are continually looking “beyond the plate” in order to remove drugs from Ohio communities and return stolen vehicles to their rightful owners.

The Jackson District recipients include Michael K. Ervin of the Portsmouth post, Steven M. Dunn of the Jackson Post, Joshua C. Craft of the Ironton Post, Matthew T. Atwood of the Gallipolis Post and Thomas G. Cassity and Timothy R. Markowski, both of the Chillicothe Post.

The Criminal Patrol Award is for excellence in felony enforcement and is given yearly to those who open at least 12 felony cases. Each winner will receive a certificate and uniform ribbon presented to him or her. The Ace Award is for excellence in auto larceny enforcement. Each winner will receive a certificate, uniform ribbon, and an Ace license plate for display on his or her cruiser.

Reach Frank Lewis at 740-353-3101, ext. 1928, or on Twitter @franklewis.

No posts to display