Breeding wins Late Models at PRP


PRP Press Release

Isom, KY’s Stephen Breeding picked up his first-ever Portsmouth Raceway Park victory Saturday, becoming the 10th different Late Model driver to record a PRP win in 2015.

As for the other divisions, defending track champions Todd Robinson, Mike Meyers, and Zack Pendleton all continued their dominance.

Evening rains forced some delays but created an extremely fast and racy track at PRP.

Breeding was quick all night long in the Late Model Division. He posted the best times in hot laps and was far and away the fastest qualifier.

Breeding captured his heat with ease but had to work much harder in the 25-lap feature. At the drop of the green, outside pole sitter Kenny Christy got the jump and led the first nine laps. The top two eventually encountered traffic, and Breeding was able to use the slower cars as a pick to get past Christy on the front stretch.

Breeding would hold on to lead the final 16 circuits but Christy turned up the heat in the closing laps to make it a rather close finish.

Following post-race inspections, the official top five consisted of Breeding, Shannon Thornsberry, Nick Bocook, Kevin Wagner and Audie Swartz.

As for the race within the race, the points battle got even tighter in the Late Models with Wagner finishing one spot ahead of Swartz. Minford’s Audie Swartz continues to lead the point standings, but Wheelersburg’s Kevin Wagner now only trails by 20 points which is equivalent to four spots on the racetrack.

South Point’s Todd Robinson continued his winning ways in the Modified Division. The two-time reigning PRP track champ moved another step closer to a three-peat, as he won for the seventh time this season.

Jessie Rupe, Scott LeMaster, Robert Garnes and Ben Adkins, made up the rest of the top five.

Mike Meyers was again the class of the field in the Limited Lates, as he won for the seventh time this year. Duane Pick, Evyian Terry, Cameron Logan and Billy Staker rounded out the top five.

Zack Pendleton again got the job done in the Bombers. The Stout driver climbed from fourth to win for the eighth time in 11 races. With the victory, Pendleton widened his points lead over Jason Spillman.

Pendleton held off his father Shane to take the checkers. Rick Butler, Perry Dearing, and Mike Drake rounded out the top five.

PRP’s next race will be The Premier Pre-Cast Products Limited Late Model Extravaganza this coming Saturday. Gates will open at 4 p.m. with racing at 7:30.

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

No posts to display