McFarland caps SOC “Grand Slam”


Alex Hider

[email protected]

On Thursday evening at the Elks Country Club, Wheelersburg’s Mitchell McFarland capped his illustrious SOC II career with a fourth-straight Player of the Year honor. He’s likely the first golfer in decades to sweep Player of the Year awards throughout his high school career.

McFarland was at a loss for words after his championship-clinching round.

“It’s…it’s just awesome,” he said.

McFarland finished with a nine-hole score of 37, finishing in second place in Thursday’s match. West’s Jordan Tieman was the match medalist with a 36.

McFarland finished nine strokes ahead of Tieman in the final SOC II standings. Thursday marked the only conference match of the season in which he did not medal.

“That was my goal freshman year to be able to (win four straight titles). I’ve definitely had a lot of help along the way. This isn’t just a one man show,” he said.

McFarland extended thanks to Wheelersburg golf coach Jerry Evans, his swing coach Bob Sowards, his father Matt and the entire Pirate community. He also dedicated Thursday’s round to his grandfather, who’s currently battling an illness.

The senior now turns his sights to the postseason, where he’ll try to reach the state tournament for the first time in his career. To do that, he first needs to finish as part of one of the five lowest-scoring teams or one of the five-lowest scoring individuals at the sectional tournament on Sept. 29 at Shawnee Golf Course, and finish on the lowest scoring team or the lowest scoring individual at the District Tournament at Crown Hill on Oct. 7.

“(Winning a state championship) has been my dream since freshman year. I’m really liking where my game is at right now,” McFarland said.

“I’m not done yet.”

The Waverly Tigers earned the SOC II team championship on Thursday by shooting a combined score of 165. They finished 45 strokes ahead of last year’s champions, Portsmouth West.

Box Score




Jo. Henderson 39

Clifford 41

Johnson 42

Heffner 43

WEST 175

Tieman 36*

Dyer 44

Finley 46

Howard/Boggs 49


Mundhenk 43

Holsinger 44

Gollard 48

Litteral 51


McFarland 37

Evans 50

Dyer 53

Deck 53


Mersiel 47

Powell 48

Hammond 49

Hollbrook 56


Downey 45

Bloomfield 50

Stone 53

Thompson 54

* = Match Medalist

Coach of the Year — Jason Ramsey, Waverly

Player of the Year — Mitchell McFarland, Wheelersburg

All-SOC — Mitchell McFarland, Wheelersburg; Jordan Tieman, West; Daniel Heffner, Waverly; Jake Henderson, Waverly; Joe Henderson, Waverly; Isaiah Clifford, Waverly

Reach Alex Hider at 740-353-3101 ext. 1931 or on Twitter @PDTSportsWriter

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

No posts to display