Christy wins at PRP


PRP Press Release

Fans flocked through the gates Saturday at Portsmouth Raceway Park to enjoy Fan Appreciation Night.

Kenny Christy returned to winner’s circle for the second time this season in the Giovanni’s Pizza Late Model Division. The three-time PRP track champ was dominant setting quick time, winning his heat, and leading every lap of the A-Main.

Devin Gilpin was nearly equally as dominant in the R.W. Rental and Supplies Modified Class. The former UMP Modified National Champion finished second in his heat but led all but the first two laps of the 20-lap Modified Feature. In three visits to Portsmouth in 2015, Gilpin now has two victories and one runner-up.

Mike Meyers again took care of business in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late Models. After sitting out a week due to some health issues, Meyers returned to blow the field away in a division which he has manhandled over the past two years. The reigning track champ won both his heat and feature leading every single lap of both. For Meyers, Saturday’s win marked his sixth of the season.

Zach Pendleton recorded his sixth PRP victory of 2015 as well. The 20-year-old captured the M & M Inflatables Bomber A-Main to add to his points lead. The defending Bomber track champion won both his Week’s Auto Sales Heat, as well as the feature.

Points battles remain tight in most divisions. Audie Swartz surpassed Kevin Wagner in the Late Models. Jason Spillman remains within striking distance of Zach Pendleton in the Bombers.

Finishing behind Kenny Christy in the Late Models were Delmas Conley, Audie Swartz, 16-year-old Tripp Gerrald, and Jake Keaton. The next five were 18-year-old Kirk Phillips, 16-year-old Avery Taylor, Robbie Lewis, Kevin Wagner, and Nick Bocook.

In total, three teenage Late Model drivers placed in the top seven, but 57-year-old Kenny Christy and 73-year-old Delmas Conley still managed to show the way.

Making up the rest of the top 10 in the Modifieds along with winner Devin Gilpin were points leader Todd Robinson, Brian Skaggs, Eric Berry, and Jody Puckett. Placing sixth through 10th were Drew Bender, Jimmy Adams, Thomas Finley, John Brady, Jr., and Tim Lambert. Bender was the Markwest Ranger Pipeline Hard Charger.

Behind Meyers in the Limited Lates were Dillon Huron, Evyian Terry, Billy Staker, Kenny McCann, Duane Pick, and Braden Roof.

Placing behind Zach Pendleton in the Bombers were Jeremie Bretz, Jason Spillman, Wayne Hughes, and Perry Dearing. The rest of the top five was made up of Mike Drake, Chris Stephens, Rick Butler, T.G. Taylor, and Shane Pendleton.

Portsmouth Raceway Park’s next race will be this coming Saturday. It will be the night of The Weaver’s Gas and Oil Bomber Shootout paying the Bombers $800 to win. Also on the card will be Late Models, Modifieds, and Limited Lates.

The Lucas Oil Late Models will return to PRP over Labor Day Weekend for The Pepsi 50 “River Days Rumble”.

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

Photo submitted Kenny Christy won the Giovanni’s Pizza Late Model Division at Portsmouth Raceway Park. submitted Kenny Christy won the Giovanni’s Pizza Late Model Division at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

No posts to display