Wheelersburg tennis wins second consecutive SOC II title after defeating Waverly twice, 3-2, 3-2

By Michael Hamilton [email protected]

The Wheelersburg tennis team took two matches from Waverly on Monday evening, 3-2, and 3-2. With the two wins against the Tigers, the Pirates clinched the SOC II title for the second consecutive year.

“I knew we had a good team this year, but I had no idea we would win the SOC (II) for the second straight year,” Wheelersburg tennis coach Tom Carter said.

The Pirates have had a lot of success on the tennis court this year, including a singles competitor and a doubles team who have gone all season without being defeated.

Drew Jackson (singles), along with Ben Allen and Zack Jordan (doubles) have not lost a match all season.


Drew Jackson (Burg) over Tom Devlin (Waverly) 6-1, 6-0, and 6-2, 6-0

Brandon Nibert (Waverly) over Zach Colley (Burg) 2-6, 6-0, 6-4, and 6-2, 6-0

Shane Hitchins (Waverly) over Tait Nealson (Burg) 6-2, 6-1

Shane Hitchins (Waverly) over Carson McCorkle (Burg) 6-3, 6-1


Ben Allen/Zack Jordan (Burg) over Brayden Stuz/Brady Montgomery (Waverly) 6-1, 6-2, and 6-1, 6-4

Seth Pertuest/Issac Mullins (Burg) over Ryan Dunn/Andrew Workman (Waverly) 2-6, 6-4, 6-4, and forfeit


By Michael Hamilton [email protected]

Reach Michael Hamilton at 740-353-3101, ext 1931, or on Twitter @MikeHamilton82.

Reach Michael Hamilton at 740-353-3101, ext 1931, or on Twitter @MikeHamilton82.