19 Scioto Countians named to SOC I unit

Gifford named DPOY

By Kevin Colley - [email protected]

Being an all-conference honoree, in any season, is an honor to certainly be proud of.

On Monday afternoon, quite a few Scioto Countians found out where they stacked up amongst the SOC I elite as a total of 19 different hands were named as All-SOC standouts for their performances over the course of the 2017 season — with East obtaining eight of the 19 All-SOC I honorees on their own.

The Tartans, who finished with an outstanding 9-3 overall mark and took home the school’s first playoff victory with a 16-8 win over Waterford, were led by several key members, including West Virginia University signee Blaine Scott, who notched 70 pancake blocks in his final season as a Tartan, and Brady Douthat, who completed 74 of his 133 passes for 1,319 yards and 25 touchdowns to just five interceptions in his first year as a starter and holds the all-time school record for passing touchdowns in a season.

Braiden Haney, who notched 82 tackles, 24 tackles for loss, and 12 sacks, Ethan Gifford, who obtained 80 tackles, 15 tackles for loss, and four sacks, and Devon Stevens, who added 39 tackles, eight tackles for a loss, and three interceptions, rounded out the first-team list, while Brayden Gifford (17 pancake blocks), JD Hatcher (23 receptions, 559 yards, 11 touchdowns), and Kyle Flannery (58 carries, 473 yards, 12 touchdowns, 11 receptions, 257 yards, six touchdowns) rounded out the Tartans’ honorees on the second-team.

Northwest, who won each of the last three games of the 2017 campaign en route to setting up a solid foundation from which to work with in 2018, put five players on the All-SOC list, with Bruce South (49 pancake blocks), Garrett Rowe (59 tackles, 11 for a loss, three sacks), and Kyle Leslie (43 tackles, 19 for a loss) making the first team. Andrew Howard (63 tackles, 14 for a loss, four sacks) and Austin Hall were the second team honorees for the Mohawks.

Ben Mader, who made 100.5 tackles from his safety position and garnered 1,495 all-purpose yards and 13 touchdowns as a dynamite running back and kickoff returner for Notre Dame, along with Trevor Darnell, an athletic body who played all over the field for Green, were the lone First-Team All-SOC selections for the Titans and Bobcats, respectively. Notre Dame’s Bryson Arnett and Sam Mays, along with Green’s Caleb Derifield and Ricky Nash, were each second-team honorees.

Overall, Oak Hill, who won the conference title with an undefeated 5-0 mark and a 7-2 tally overall, had 10 honorees. The Oaks swept the Offensive Player of the Year, Lineman of the Year, and Coach of the Year awards, with Zach Fisher, Ramsey Sites, and Nathan Dugan, respectively, earning those honors. Dalton Tomlison, a Division I prospect on the offensive line, led Eastern’s five honorees, while the standout backfield of Layken Gothard and Kiefer Wilson, along with the relentless motor of Brock Carpenter, allowed Symmes Valley to place an additional five players on the All-SOC I list.

Southern Ohio Conference Football All-Stars

Division 1

First Team: Oak Hill: Zach Fisher, Ramsey Sites, Bayley Clutters, Walker Smith, Hunter Fleming, Jason Turner, Cole Hanning, Austin Detty. East: Blaine Scott, Brady Douthat, Ethan Gifford, Braiden Haney, Devon Stevens. Northwest: Kyle Leslie, Garrett Rowe, Bruce South. Eastern: Dalton Tomlison, Parker Clemmons, Drake Meyers. Symmes Valley: Brock Carpenter, Layken Gothard, Kiefer Wilson. Notre Dame: Ben Mader. Green: Trevor Darnell.

Second Team: Oak Hill: Caleb Johnson, Colin Hughes, Owen Conley. East: Brayden Gifford, JD Hatcher, Kyle Flannery. Northwest: Andrew Howard, Austin Hall. Eastern: Wes Hodge, Garrett Allen. Symmes Valley: Ian McCleese, Derik Brace. Notre Dame: Bryson Arnett, Sam Mays. Green: Caleb Derifield, Ricky Nash.

Offensive Player of the Year: Zach Fisher-Oak Hill

Defensive Player of the Year: Ethan Gifford-East

Lineman of the Year: Ramsey Sites-Oak Hill

Coach of the Year: Nathan Dugan-Oak Hill

Gifford named DPOY

By Kevin Colley

[email protected]

Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter @KColleyPDT

Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter @KColleyPDT