23 named to All-SOC GSOC list

By Kevin Colley - kcolley@aimmediamidwest.com

Over the past several seasons, the support for the game of girls soccer in the SOC II realm has grown exponentially.

And of all of the seasons where action has been present, there may not be a better example of that than in 2017, where 23 girls soccer hands from across the SOC II realm obtained honors in the sport in a widely-competitive league that featured more ups than downs from a competition standpoint.

SOC II Review

Wheelersburg, who finished the 2017 season with a strong overall record of 18-1-1, won its second straight Division III District Championship and put together its best showing yet in its fourth season as a program, falling to Lynchburg-Clay by a scant 1-0 tally last Tuesday.

For their efforts, the well-balanced Lady Pirates were able to rack up the accolades as Wheelersburg notched a conference-high 11 honorees in the sport, with Madison Humble — who won the SOC II Player of the Year honors for the conference — leading the charge. Standout goalkeeper Morgan Bivens, offensive stalwarts Lyndlee Wills, Libby Miller, Christen Risner, and Sophie Hagans, and the rock-solid defensive play of Jordan Jennings and Sydney White were also represented on the first team list. Chelsee Steele, McKailyn Wamsley, and Laney Eller rounded out the honorees for the Lady Pirates as the trio garnered second team accolades.

Minford, who finished with a 4-4 overall record in the conference, was led by the star duo of Erin Daniels and Marissa Risner, with goalkeeper Marissa Watters and defender Aspen Lambert joining their teammates on the first team. Aurie Coriell and Emily Shoemaker, two solid offensive talents, made the second team list.

Northwest and West, who battled each other to 1-0 and 0-0 scores in the regular season, obtained five and three honorees, respectively. Sydnie Jenkins, Kaley Hamilton, and Ellie Curtis (first team), along with Haleigh Ross and Alexia Throckmorton (second team), represented the Lady Mohawks, while Madison Cochran and Abbie Powell (first team) and Kaelee Leavitt (second team) were the Lady Senators’ conference honorees in 2017.

Waverly, who finished as the runner-up in the conference with a 6-2 overall record, took home the Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year honors as Courtney Boyer and Chris Murphy, respectively, took those awards back to Tigertown. Star freshmen Zoiee Smith and Loren Moran, along with Hannah Goodman and Breanna Murphy, joined Boyer on the first team while Michaela Rhodes, Kylee Murphy, and Alexis Murphy obtained second team accolades in 2017.

SOC Division II

First Team: Wheelersburg: Morgan Bivens, Jordan Jennings, Sydney White, Madison Humble, Lyndlee Willis, Libby Miller, Christen Risner, Sophie Hagans. Waverly: Courtney Boyer, Zoiee Smith, Loren Moran, Hannah Goodman, Breanna Murphy. Minford: Erin Daniels, Marissa Risner, Marissa Watters, Aspen Lambert. Northwest: Sydnie Jenkins, Kaley Hamilton, Ellie Curtis. West: Madison Cochran, Abbie Powell.

Second Team: Wheelersburg: Chelsee Steele, McKailyn Wamsley, Laney Eller. Waverly: Michaela Rhodes, Kylee Murphy, Alexis Murphy. Minford: Aurie Coriell, Emily Shoemaker. Northwest: Haleigh Ross, Alexia Throckmorton. West: Kaelee Leavitt.

Player of the Year: Madison Humble-Wheelersburg

Defensive Player of the Year: Courtney Boyer-Waverly

Coach of the Year: Chris Murphy-Waverly

Order of Finish: Wheelersburg (8-0), Waverly (6-2), Minford (4-4), Northwest (1-6-1), West (0-7-1)

By Kevin Colley


Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter @KColleyPDT

Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter @KColleyPDT