Rio place 91 on RSC Scholar-Athlete list

Staff Report

FLORENCE, Ky. – The River States Conference has announced that 547 student-athletes at its 13 member institutions – including a conference-best 91 from the University of Rio Grande – have earned the distinction of 2016-17 RSC All-Conference Scholar-Athletes in their respective sports.

Women’s Track and Field led the RedStorm’s honoree list with 17 student-athletes, while Men’s Soccer and Softball had 12 each.

To earn the award, student-athletes must maintain a grade-point average of 3.25 or higher, compete in a RSC championship sport and be nominated by their athletic department.

Asbury University and Ohio Christian University followed Rio Grande’s league-leading total with 75 and 60 honorees, respectively.

Rio Grande student-athletes making the list, listed by sport, included:

* MEN’S SOCCER (12): Ben Mendoza, Eduardo Zurita, Erik Wehse, Mattheus Morgan, Jeremy de Hoog, Ben Martinez, Patricio Arce, Danny Carroll, Pau Delgado Rodriguez, Heitor de Melo, Jorge Guinovart, Joao Paulo Antonio.

* WOMEN’S SOCCER (5): Katie Zuniga, Olivia Slone, Haley Merritt, Rachel Haddad, Kristin Garn.

* VOLLEYBALL (3): Aleah Pelphrey, Chandler Brown, Autumn Snider.

* MEN’S CROSS COUNTRY (3): Blake Freed, Dallas Guy, Kyle Sanborn.

* WOMEN’S CROSS COUNTRY (7): Alex Ellis, Katie Glover, Keri Lawrence, Lucy Williams, Rachel Ball, Maggie Dellinger, Andrea Hunt.

* MEN’S BASKETBALL (2): Wyatt Brewster, Devon Price.

* WOMEN’S BASKETBALL (9): Kaylynn Bell, Whitney Gilkeson, Jaida Carter, Chelsy Slone, Megan Leidtke, Taylor Grubb, Jasmine Smith, Audra Clark, Brooke Marcum.

* BASEBALL (11): Juston Donnally, Trent Downs, Zach Harvey, Joseph Landers, III, Juwan Padro, Collin Powers, Dylan Shockley, Dominic Tiberi, Loagn Walters, Dalton Wilburn, Robert Wolfinger.

* SOFTBALL (12): Brittany Walk, Courtney Walk, Kari Jenkins, Alex Stevens, Tiffany Bise, Hannah Hawley, Kelsey Conkey, Tayler Arndt, Kayla McEldowney, Kelly Fuchs, Kacee Jenkins, Megan Hatfield.

* MEN’S TRACK & FIELD (10): Phil Colbert, Blake Freed, Nikola Andjelic, Isaac Andrews, David Bakenhaster, Floyd Lowry, Austin Moore, Ben Martinez, Jonathon Ohlinger, Tim Warner.

* WOMEN’S TRACK & FIELD (17): Alex Ellis, Katie Glover, Keri Lawrence, Lucy Williams, Rachel Ball, Katie Browning, Kylie Caudill, McKenzie Coriell, Taylor Grubb, Andrea Hunt, Alexis Johnson, Tyanna Petty, Shelby Pickens, Maddie Rigsby, Brooke Schofield, Bre West, Nichole Worsham.

Staff Report