Eight named All-Ohio

Four Scioto County players named All-Ohio

Staff Report

COLUMBUS — If a season is in progress, one can always count on Minford, Portsmouth, and Wheelersburg being in the hunt for a district championship.

On Tuesday evening, the trio’s efforts in reloading year after year paid off once again as Wheelersburg’s Tanner Holden and Kaden Coleman, along with Minford’s Matthew Gullett and Portsmouth’s Kendal Reynolds, earned either All-Ohio Special Mention or Honorable Mention accolades from the statewide Associated Press voters.

Holden, a sophomore forward, led the way for the county by averaging 14.7 points per bout for the Pirates. The hoops standout, who also stars on the gridiron for Wheelersburg, was the lone underclassman on the First Team All-Southeast District list.

Fellow teammate Coleman, who departs after an outstanding career with the Pirates, averaged a team-high 16.2 points per contest for Wheelersburg en route to Second-Team All-Southeast District honors and All-Ohio Honorable Mention billing. The 6-2 forward was a significant presence in the Pirates’ lineup over the past three seasons.

Reynolds, who was a go-to scoring and rebounding threat for the Trojans throughout his career, joined Coleman on the honorable mention list with his efforts throughout the 2016-17 campaign. The 6-2 forward averaged 16.2 points per contest for Portsmouth this year. Gullett, who helped shoulder the offensive scoring load for the Falcons, joined the aforementioned pair on the honorable mention list with his 14.8 points per affair.

In addition to the Scioto County schools, Ironton, Oak Hill, and Piketon each put four additional players on the unit as the Tigers’ Ethan Wilson, the Oaks’ Nolan Carroll and Mitchell Hale, and the Redstreaks’ Casey Moore all obtained either special mention or honorable mention accolades. Carroll — the lone special mention honoree — and Hale combined for 34 points per affair for Oak Hill, while Wilson and Moore each

Carroll, who was the lone special mention honoree out of the group, and Hale combined for 34 points per affair for Oak Hill, while Wilson and Moore each paced their respective units in scoring. The latter eclipsed the 1,000-point affair against Fairland in his final contest in a Piketon uniform. Waverly’s Cade Marquez added special mention honors in the Division II ranks, behind his 19 points per affair, to cap off the list of honored players.


First Team

Jay Joseph, Worthington Christian, 6-foot-4, sr., 16.1; Lukas Isaly, Hannibal River, 6-1, jr., 22.0; Derek Koch, West Salem Northwestern, 6-9, sr., 21.7; Jerry Higgins, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, 5-9, jr., 16.3; Ethan Linder, Haviland Wayne Trace, 6-3, sr., 29.0; Isaiah Howell, Proctorville Fairland, 6-2, jr., 15.2; Dylan Swingle, Bainbridge Paint Valley, 6-11, jr., 21.3; Justin Ahrens, Versailles, 6-6, jr., 23.4; Anthony Masterlasco, Findlay Liberty-Benton, 6-4, sr., 25.1; Logan Newman, Louisville St. Thomas Aquinas, 6-0, sr., 16.7.

Second Team

Justin Anderson, Beverly Fort Frye, 6-2, sr., 23.3; Chase Yoho, Bellaire, 5-10, jr., 31.2; Tommy Bissler, Garrettsville Garfield, 6-1, sr., 17.1; Alonzo Gaffney, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, 6-8, so., 12.7; Dakota Prichard, Spencerville, 6-4, sr., 18.9; Gunner Oakes, Swanton, 6-4, sr., 20.4; Ryan Lane, New London, 6-3, sr., 16.2; Caleb South, Tipp City Bethel, 6-1, jr., 24.6; Craig McGee, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 6-0, sr., 12.9; Sam Martin, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 5-10, sr., 16.0.

Third Team

Ronnie Rayburn, Richwood North Union, 6-5, sr., 19.9; Ty Hamsher, Garaway, 6-0, sr., 19.0; Tariq Drake, Leavittsburg LaBrae, 6-2, sr., 14.0; Jake Ford, New Middletown Springfield, 6-1, sr., 25.2; Dorian Crutcher, Elyria Catholic, 6-3, jr., 19.5; Donald Johnson, Oberlin, 6-4, sr., 18.0; Jacob Plantz, Genoa Area, 6-3, so., 18.1; Eric McLaughlin, Lynchburg-Clay, 6-5, jr., 20.4; Lorenzo Sparks, Cincinnati North College Hill, 6-0, jr., 20.0; Lucas Nasonti, Warren Champion, 5-10, sr., 23.0.

Co-Players of the Year: Justin Ahrens, Versailles; Ethan Linder, Haviland Wayne Trace

Co-Coaches of the Year: Zach Ruth, Galion Northmor; Travis Swank, Versailles; Derek Edwards, Martins Ferry

Special Mention

Breon Backus, Grandview Heights; Ross Ryan, Centerburg; Brady Thomas, Columbus Ready; Andrew Mason, Coshocton; Zac Selby, Martins Ferry; Turner Horn, Berlin Hiland; Kameron Shockley, Waterloo; Dan Ritter, Canfield South Range; Jayson Woodrich, Beachwood; Ronald Vann, Cleveland Martin Luther King Jr.; Bryce Williams, Archbold; Luke Thomas, Proctorville Fairland; Tanner Holden, Wheelersburg; Landon Carroll, Oak Hill.

Honorable Mention

Ryan Alexander, Columbus Academy; Brian Collier, Grandview Heights; Joe Craycraft, Marion Pleasant; Brandon Estep, Johnstown Northridge; Jayden Turner, Worthington Christian; Chad Neisel, Magnolia Sandy Valley; Brenton Franks, Zoarville Tuscarawas Valley; Tyler Reddish, Cadiz Harrison Central; Keith Leindecker, West Lafayette Ridgewood; Ty Kildow, Belmont Union Local; Drew McKenzie, Zanesville West Muskingum; Luke Powell, Barnesville; Darius Ray, Martins Ferry; JoJo France, Manchester; Gabe Walker, Wooster Triway; Kaleb Bauman, Rittman; Daniel Zuchak, Rittman; Anthony Ritter, Canfield South Range; Brandon Youngstown Canfield South Range; Aaron Iler, Leavittsburg LaBrae; Brian Hiner, Brookfield; Jacob Reed, Smithville; C.J. Charleston, Gates Mills Gilmour Academy; Declan Kirincic, Gates Mills Gilmour Academy; Danny McGarry, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph; Jude Cunningham, Orwell Grand Valley; Emil Hess, Burton Berkshire; Joseph Vallery, Warrensville Heights; Bryce Ostheimer, Milan Edison; Tayte Lentz, Bloomdale Elmwood; Braxton Fasone, Van Buren; Hunter Sieben, Toledo Ottawa Hills; Kolden Uribes, Montpelier; Tyler Mescher, Maria Stein Marion Local; Jace Stockwell, Delphos Jefferson; Chace Harris, Albany Alexander; Jacob Dovenbarger, Bidwell River Valley; Gunner Short, Proctorville Fairland; Ethan Wilson, Ironton; Mason Darby, Ironton Rock Hill; Tayshaun Fox, South Point; Trey Postage, Frankfort Adena; Casey Moore, Piketon; Joe Giordano, Lynchburg-Clay; Kaden Coleman, Wheelersburg; Kendal Reynolds, Portsmouth; Matthew Gullett, Minford; Mitchell Hale, Oak Hill; Dalton Stewart, Brookville; Justin Flor, Carlisle; Alex Dahling, Cincinnati Summit Country Day; Trenton Weeks, Bethel Bethel-Tate; Tony Boddie, Dayton Stivers School for the Arts.

http://portsmouth-dailytimes.aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/28/2017/03/web1_Kendal-Reynolds.jpgSubmitted Photo

http://portsmouth-dailytimes.aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/28/2017/03/web1_Matthew-Gullett.jpgTim Gearhart
Four Scioto County players named All-Ohio

Staff Report

Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter @ColleyKevin7

Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter @ColleyKevin7