Schaefer, Johnson All-Ohio

By Kevin Colley - [email protected]

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Throughout the course of the 2016-17 campaign, the talent and the teams that are present across the Division IV realm in Scioto County have proven that they can compete with any unit around on a nightly basis.

That fact was well-represented on the latest version of the Associated Press’ Division IV All-Ohio girls basketball team, as Notre Dame’s Hagen Schaefer made the Second-Team All-Ohio unit, while South Webster’s Ellie Jo Johnson collected Third-Team All-Ohio honors. Fellow Lady Titan hand Lexi Smith, along with New Boston’s Ali Hamilton, Clay’s Jensen Warnock, East’s Shay Brown, and Green’s Kaylynn Blizzard also obtained Special Mention or Honorable Mention accolades.

Behind a 23-2 mark and a regional final appearance, Schaefer and Smith were able to head the charge as Notre Dame was the lone school who placed multiple members on the Division IV All-Ohio teams.

Schaefer, a First-Team All-Southeast District honoree, averaged over 16 points and four rebounds for the Lady Titans, while Smith, a Second-Team All-Southeast District member, averaged 13.5 points and 9.8 rebounds per contest to lead Notre Dame to another SOC I title. Smith scored a team-high 26 points against Eastern Meigs in the Division IV, Jackson I District Finals in a double-overtime loss.

Johnson, Scioto County’s lone Third-Team mention, led South Webster to yet another appearance in the Division IV District Finals by leading the Lady Jeeps in points, rebounds, assists and blocks over the course of the year. The 6-1 junior averaged 18.2 points, 10.9 rebounds and 4.6 assists per contest as South Webster’s 15-10 campaign and 7-7 SOC II record were significantly better than what many prognosticators expected following the departure of four seniors from the 2015-16 roster.

Hamilton, who was the lone special mention for the county, utilized another excellent season en route to First-Team All-Southeast District honors. The 5-11 post player averaged 16 points and 9.1 rebounds per affair for the Lady Tigers.

In addition to Smith, Warnock, Brown, and Blizzard all joined the 6-2 post player on the honorable mention unit at the state level. Brown’s 20-plus points per contest, Warnock’s 15.7 points per game, and Blizzard’s double-double averages of 16 points and 10 rebounds per outing were among the standout numbers that the trio put up throughout the year.

Of the teams outside of Scioto County, Pike County’s C.C. Shanks (Western) and Lawrence County’s Jensyn Shepherd (Symmes Valley) were also recognized. Shanks averaged 20.3 points per contest for the Lady Indians, while Shepherd, a 5-11 junior, was a consistent presence in the low post for the Lady Vikings.

The 2016-17 Associated Press Division IV All-Ohio girls basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel (with school, height, class and scoring average):


First Team

Angela Troyer, Berlin Hiland, 5-foot-9, senior, 19.0 points per game; Antonella LaMonica, Warren John F. Kennedy, 5-1, sr., 18.7; Jordan Elliott, Danville, 5-8, sr., 18.9; Jenna Karl, New Washington Buckeye Central, 5-8, jr., 15.5; Michaela Harrison, North Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy, jr., 5-7, 16.1; Allie Downing, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-11, sr., 17.3; Alli Kern, Waterford, 5-9, jr., 12.4; Bridget Landin, Ottoville, 6-0, jr., 14.0; Rosie Westerbeck, Minster, 5-10, sr., 13.0; Megan Ball, Waterford, 5-10, jr., 13.5.

Player of the Year: Angela Troyer, Berlin Hiland

Coach of the Year: Dave Schlabach, Berlin Hiland

Second Team

Riley Hagy, Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans, 5-8, sr., 17.1; Lexi Knight, Windham, 5-6, sr., 19.6; Sydney Mayberry, North Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy, jr., 5-10, 17.2; Danae Myers, Haviland Wayne Trace, 6-0, sr., 16.0; Laura Pullins, Reedsville Eastern, 6-0, sr., 19.0; Jessica Erwin, South Charleston Southeastern Local, 5-11, sr., 18.4; Lauren Flannery, Hannibal River, 5-5, so., 20.9; Kennedy Schlabach, Berlin Hiland, 5-6,, jr., 16.0; Sierra Nichols, Arlington, 6-0, sr., 15.7; Hagen Schaefer, Portsmouth Notre Dame, 5-7, sr., 16.4.

Third Team

Celeste Mershimer, Lancaster Fairfield Christian Academy, 5-4, sr., 18.1; Makenna Geiser, Dalton, 5-8, fr., 17.0; Katie Hiestand, Louisville St. Thomas Aquinas, 6-0, jr.; Brianna Gillig, New Riegel, 5-9, jr., 23.0; Madison Stolly, Lima Central Catholic, 5-8, sr., 22.4; Ellie Jo Johnson, South Webster, 6-1, jr., 18.2; Ise Bolender, Cedarville, 5-10, jr., 18.4; Morgan McMillen, Berlin Hiland, 5-9, jr., 19.0; Emily Patton, Upper Scioto Valley, 5-9, sr., 20.1; Maria Herron, Russia, 5-7, sr., 13.4.

Special Mention

Payton Hartshorn, Granville Christian Academy; Lauren Mickley, Danville; Megan Mulvaine, Morral Ridgedale; Lexi Brookover, New Matamoras Frontier; Makayla Liedtke, Beverly Fort Frye; Kelsi Hulit, Malvern; Courtney Warnick, Southington Chalker; Ashley Totani, North Jackson Jackson-Milton; Elizabeth Breckbill, Kidron Central Christian; Grace Marino, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy; Mickayla Baldwin, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy; Madyson Paradie, Ashtabula St. John; Lexi Woods, Bainbridge Paint Valley; Destiny Tabler, Stewart Federal Hocking; Jensyn Shepherd, Willow Wood Symmes Valley; Ali Hamilton, New Boston Glenwood; C.C. Shanks, Latham Western; Faith Teaford, Racine Southern; Cheyenne Barker, Belpre; Grace Shope, Leesburg Fairfield; Tia Karras, Dayton Miami Valley School.

Honorable Mention

Savannah Childress, Columbus Wellington; Mya Cordle, Powell Village Academy; Paige Probasco, Sugar Grove Berne Union; Sophia Sterling, Lancaster Fairfield Christian; Kloe Yutzy, Plain City Shekinah Christian; Taylor Franklin, Sarahsville Shenandoah; Jonna Eneix, Shadyside; Brittany Bertoia, Steubenville Catholic Central; Brooke Beamer, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Abby Hutcheson, Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans; Katrina Schubert, Vienna Mathews; Daisjha Parks, Youngstown Valley Christian; Preslie Halliwill, Mogadore; Kirsten Shoup, Dalton; Kristy Eckman, Leetonia; Samantha Homa, McDonald; Talia Miller, Kidron Central Christian; Emily McClain, Elyria Open Door Christian School; Micheala Cloonan, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy; Maria Janasko, North Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy; Jasmine Johnson, Cleveland Heights Lutheran East; Lexi Martin, Cuyahoga Heights; Emily Werley, Elyria Open Door Christian School; Jami Hardy, Oregon Cardinal Stritch; Ashley Painley, Norwalk St. Paul; Taylor Haines, Stryker; Rachel Williamson, Antwerp; Addison Bergman, Hicksville; Paige Motycka, Convoy Crestview; Allison Adelsperger, Old Fort; Sydney Kin, Carey; Miranda Wammes, Fremont St. Joseph; Ashley Spencer, Corning Miller; Lexi Smith, Portsmouth Notre Dame; Kaylynn Blizzard, Franklin Furnace Green; Jensen Warnock, Portsmouth Clay; Shay Brown, Sciotoville Community East; Elizabeth Collins, Reedsville Eastern; Corina Conley, Arcanum Franklin Monroe; Aubrey Stupp, Lewisburg Tri-County North; Michelle Lee, Cincinnati Miami Valley Christian Academy; Cassie Meyer, Jackson Center; Samantha Whiteman, Covington.

By Kevin Colley

[email protected]

Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter at @ColleyKevin7

Reach Kevin Colley at (740) 353-3101 ext. 1930 OR on Twitter at @ColleyKevin7