6 Trojans named all-OVC football

By Paul Boggs - [email protected]

An historic foursome.

That’s because, for the first time in school history, members of the Gallia Academy Blue Devils have received all-Ohio Valley Conference football honors — as four Blue Devils were named to the all-conference club, which was announced on Thursday.

This past season marked Gallia Academy’s inaugural in the OVC, as the Blue Devils — in fact — are one of only two schools in the entire eight-team league not residing in Lawrence County.

The other is Portsmouth, which — along with back-to-back league champion Ironton — completed only its second season of football in the conference.

The Blue Devils defeated winless South Point for their only OVC win, while losing their first seven conference contests.

Gallia Academy and South Point had two first-teamers apiece, while Ironton (8-0 OVC) ended up with six and runner-up Chesapeake (7-1 OVC) chalked up five.

Coal Grove and Portsmouth placed four first-teamers apiece, along with three each from Fairland and Rock Hill.

Each squad automatically received two Honorable Mention selections.

While no Player of the Year is chosen, Mark Vass of Ironton repeated as Coach of the Year.

For the Blue Devils, sophomore Justin McCllelland and junior Matt Moreaux made the first team, while senior Colton Campbell and sophomore Cory Call earned Honorable Mention.

Ironton’s six first-team selections were Tyler Webb, Garrett Carrico, Eli Willis, Jake Isaac, Tanner Wilson and Ethan Duncan.

Webb was a repeat first-teamer, while Carrico claimed Honorable Mention last year.

Chesapeake’s first-team fivesome featured Casey McComas, Brendan Meadows, Will Scott, Cecil Fletcher and J.W. Bartrum.

McComas repeated to the first team, as he was also a member of the all-OVC first team two years ago.

Coal Grove’s four first-teamers included three first-team repeaters — Jacob Clark, Daniel Rutherford and Brad Roach.

The only first-time first-team honoree was Kimo Baldwin.

For Portsmouth, its four first-teamers were all first-time picks — Luke Purdy, Blake Wedebrook, Ryan Williams and Talyn Parker.

Rock Hill had first-teamers Logan Hankins, Trystan Matney and Brady Knipp, as Matney repeated to the first team while Knipp was Honorable Mention last season.

For Fairland, it’s first-team trio consisted of Chase Fisher, Keedrick Cunningham and Jonah Galloway, as Fisher and Cunningham made Honorable Mention last year.

South Point’s pair of first-teamers were Drew Adams and Owen Chafin.

In addition to Gallia Academy’s Campbell and Call, the other Honorable Mention choices were Levi Langdon and Jackson Pleasant of Ironton; Wes Malavenda and Austin Browning of Chesapeake; Tanner Henry and Nathan Harrison of Coal Grove; Colin Boehm and Anthony Ferrara of Portsmouth; Cameron Barnette and Tim Adkins of Rock Hill; Seth Clay and Jordan Michael of Fairland; and Will Borders and Elijah Adams of South Point.

Borders also made Honorable Mention last season, while Henry and Barnette both made last year’s first team.

By Paul Boggs

[email protected]