SSU Announces 2016 Hall of Fame Class

Sports Release

PORTSMOUTH – The Shawnee State athletic department has announced the addition of three student-athletes and one administrator in its Hall of Fame Class of 2016. Women’s basketball player Becky Babione, men’s basketball player Terrence Davison, softball and women’s basketball player Brandi Rose and former Athletic Director Jim Arnzen will each be inducted during Homecoming Weekend on Feb. 5-6.

Babione marks the 12th member of the women’s basketball team to be inducted into the SSU Hall of Fame, while Davison represents the seventh member from the men’s basketball squad. Brandi Rose becomes just the third multi-sport athlete to join the ranks. Finally, Arnzen is the second administrator to be inducted.

Becky Babione, Women’s Basketball (2005-2009)

Becky Babione put together one of the more illustrious careers at Shawnee State, establishing herself as the greatest shot blocker in women’s basketball history. The Fremont, Ohio, native not only ranks first in program history in blocks with 251, but also finished as the 2008-09 Player of the Year in the American Mideast Conference, was a First Team All-American that same year, was an Honorable Mention All-American in 2007-08 and was named First Team All-AMC in each of those seasons. Babione was a member of three teams which qualified for the NAIA National Tournament and, in 2008-09 was a senior on the squad which completed the only undefeated regular season in program history, finishing the year with a record of 31-1 and 15-0 in the AMC. Babione was also a four-time AMC Player of the Week, stands at sixth in program history in career blocks and 29th on the all-time scoring list, as one of just 29 players in the 1,000 point club.

Terrence Davison, Men’s Basketball (2002-2006)

In a four-year career at Shawnee State, Terrence Davison proved one of the greatest scoring threats in Shawnee State men’s basketball history. When he graduated in 2006 with 1,689 career points, he ranked as the leader in points scored and one of just nine players in the 1,000 point club. He currently sits in second behind 2013 graduate Tyler Morgan, as the two represent the lone members of the 1,500 point club. In four seasons with the Bears, he Mansfield, Ohio, native was twice named First Team All-American Mideast Conference, once Second Team All-AMC and landed on the AMC All-Freshman team during his opening campaign. Davison averaged 18.4 points during his senior season and 17.3 as a junior. He also ranks in the Top 10 in program history with 638 field goals made (first), 126 games played (first), and 161 career steals (second). Davison is first in minutes played, tied for second in career starts, fourth in free throws made and 10th in total rebounds.

Brandi Rose, Softball (1993-96), Women’s Basketball (1992-94, 95-97)

Brandi Rose becomes just the third member of the Shawnee State Hall of Fame to earn letters in multiple sports. While a member of three women’s basketball teams which reached the NAIA National Tournament, including a pair of quarterfinal qualifiers, Rose did much of her damage on the softball field. The South Webster, Ohio, native was a member of four-straight Mid-Ohio Conference Championship squads, while her senior season culminated with a trip to the NAIA National Championship game, where the Bears finished as the NAIA runner-up. She was also part of a pair of Great Lakes Regional Championships, a District 22 Championship, and lost just one MOC game in her four-year career. Rose was named First Team All-American in the 1996 season, and three times was a First Team All-MOC member. She currently ranks third in program history in runs batted in (125), fourth in runs scored (144), fourth in hits (196) fourth in total bases (286) and sixth in career batting average (.392). The 1996 remains the winningest Shawnee State softball team of all time.

Jim Arnzen, Athletic Director (1992– 2008), Men’s Basketball Coach (1988-2001)

Jim Arnzen spent 20 years in the Shawnee State athletic department, first as the original men’s basketball coach when the program began in 1988 and then as the athletic director for 15 years between 1992 and 2008 – including seven years of overlap in both positions. Arnzen provided many key contributions in those 20 years, including renovations throughout the James A. Rhodes Athletic Center in both Frank & Janis Waller Gymnasium and Warsaw Natatorium. Perhaps his biggest contribution however, came in the expansion of the athletic department from just two sports in men’s and women’s basketball to 11 with the additions of baseball, men’s and women’s cross country, golf, men’s and women’s soccer, softball and volleyball. Arnzen is one of just three athletic directors in Shawnee State history and joins his predecessor, Harry Weinbrecht as the only administrators to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The 2016 Hall of Fame Class will be inducted on Friday, Feb. 5 at the Hall of Fame Banquet as a part of Shawnee State’s Homecoming Weekend. The banquet is set for 6:30 p.m. in the Sodexo Ballroom, with a VIP cocktail hour beginning at 5:30 p.m. The next day, the SSU women’s and men’s basketball teams will take on the University of Pikeville at 2 p.m. and 4:30 p.m., respectively. For ticket information and any other inquiries about the Hall of Fame Banquet, please contact sports information director Jake Snyder at [email protected]

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;