Last updated: July 24. 2013 2:09PM - 253 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Bob Strickley

PDT Sports Editor

The 2012 Southeast District Cross Country teams were released this week and runners from five area schools received honors in Division II and Division III.

Shaniah Begley of Piketon was the lone girls runner in the area to make the Div. II list while Piketon’s Kane Dixon and Zach Varney landed on the Div. II boys list. Minford’s Tyler Evans was also a Div. II District performer.

In Div. III, Taylor Palmer, Chantel Barnhart, Keri Lawrence and Asia Michael all landed on the girls District list representing Eastern. Ariel Schweickart of Ironton and Lauren Bays of Wheelersburg were also District honorees.

Eastern coach Josh Fogle won District Coach of the Year while Palmer won Runner of the Year in the Southeastern District.

On the boys side of Div. III, Tyson Long of Eastern was honored as were Wheelersburg’s Brandan Adams, Brian Stiers, James Widdig and Alex Mullins.


Jessie Proehl (Zane Trace), Jenna Liston (Circleville), Andrea Mick (Sheridan), Emily Joosse (Zane Trace), Kim Wolfe (Zane Trace), Katy Foltz (Sheridan), Samantha Stevens (Circleville), Jessie Habegger (Sheridan), Madison Holley (Gallia Academy), Hannah Watts (Gallia Academy), Denae Forgrave (Sheridan), Hannah Dugan (Warren), Kirsten List (Washington Court House), Heather Findlay (Sheridan), Shaniah Begley (Piketon).

Emily Cass (Athens), Jessica Swaim (Fairfield Union), Allyson Malone (Alexander), Kinkela Harkins (Unioto), Lucy Williams (Athens), Shanan Ashton (Fairland), Megan Ashton (Fairland), Rebekah Mullins (Logan Elm), Sydney Pettit (Fairland), Madison Yerke (Athens), Taylor Perry (Fairland), Jessica Price (Fairland), Lauren Verdow (Fairfield Union), Ashton Horsley (Athens), Mya Faris (Vinton County), Brooke Kemerer (Athens).

Co-Coaches of the Year: Chuck Wentz (Fairland) and Bart Smith (Sheridan)

Co-Runners of the Year: Jessie Proehl (Zane Trace) and Emily Cass (Athens)


Anthony Edwards (Unioto), Ethan Richter (Unioto), Shawn Stewart (Vinton County), DeAndre Steward (Hillsboro), Adam Agosta (Logan Elm), David Magda (Unioto), Brenson Zambarrano (Unioto), Dylan Newton (Westfall), Joe Beery (Hillsboro), Sam Stevens-Jones (Athens), Brett Radabaugh (Vinton County), Isaac Verdow (Fairfield Union), Matt Koehler (Westfall), Tag Hauschild (Athens), Tim Allen (Vinton County), Ira Hobbs (Jackson).

Matt Bromley (Sheridan), Raine Wireman (Fairland), Cory Miles (Zane Trace), Kane Dixon (Piketon), Chad McComas (Fairland), Pierce Mowery (Zane Trace), Logan Rowe (Fairland), Joey Palumbo (Sheridan), Tyler Evans (Minford), Mac Bloom (Sheridan), Michael Edelmann (Gallia Academy), Zack Varney (Piketon), Eddie Stolarz (Circleville), Jacob Wingett (Circleville), Nathan Smith (Sheridan), Zach Sluder (Washington Court House).

Co-Coaches of the Year: Chuck Wentz (Fairland) and Josh Kirkpatrick (Vinton County)

Tri-Runners of the Year: Matt Bromley (Sheridan), Raine Wireman (Fairland) and Ethan Richter (Unioto)


Taylor Palmer (Eastern), Chantel Barnhart (Eastern), Jennifer McCoy (Southern), Lily Parsons (Nels-York), Kayla Honesty (Fed Hock), Taylor Clarkson (Adena), Keri Lawrence (Eastern), Kate Spencer (Trimble), Emma Williams (Belpre), Rebekah Ellis (Eastern Brown), Emily McKee (Trimble), Ariel Schweickart (Ironton), Amanda Farthing (Manchester), Lauren Bays (Wheelersburg), Tess Burns (Manchester), Asia Michael (Eastern).

Coach of the Year: Josh Fogle (Eastern)

Runner of the Year: Taylor Palmer (Eastern)


Kody Wolfe (Southern), Michael Mangus (Fairfield), Blake Hildebrant (Fairfield), Jakeb Tadlock (West Union), Aaron Dalton (Rock Hill), Josh Smathers (Trimble), Tim Snider (West Union), Seth Miller (Rock Hill), Cliff Bonner (Fed Hock), Wyatt Crothers (Fairfield), Dustin Willey (Fairfield), Matthew Leach (Fairfield), Justin Hettinger (Southern), Tyson Long (Eastern), John Cain (Fairfield), Billy Brannock (West Union).

Eli Strahler (Waterford), Cray Sistrunk (Belpre), Brandan Adams (Wheelersburg), Layne Pickerill (Eastern Brown), Brian Stiers (Wheelersburg), Kennley Wolfe (Belpre), Kyle Windland (Belpre), James Widdig (Wheelersburg), Matt Davis (Belpre), Dakota Williams (Eastern Brown), Quinn Stoltz (Lynchburg-Clay), Skyler Durst (Western), Alex Mullins (Wheelersburg), Noah Stoltz (Lynchburg-Clay), Gage Waits (Lynchburg-Clay), Lee Wittekind (Waterford).

Coach of the Year: Raymond Friend (Fairfield)

Co-Runners of the Year: Kody Wolfe (Southern) and Michael Mangus (Fairfield)

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com