Last updated: July 24. 2013 1:37PM - 226 Views
By - flewis@civitasmedia.com - 740-353-3101

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:


PDT Staff Writer

The nominees have been named for Lewis County judge-executive.

In early July then Lewis County Judge-Executive Thomas Massie resigned to focus on his 4th District congressional campaign.

After Massie’s resignation, magistrate Milt Stanfield was appointed to serve as interim county judge-executive, until Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear could made an appointment.

Beshear recently appointment John Collins, of Vanceburg, to the office of Lewis County judge-executive.

Collins will serve as the judge-executive until the November election, when Lewis County residents will choose a new judge.

According to Beshear’s office, Collins currently serves as the Lewis County deputy judge-executive and has served as the Lewis County economic development director for the past two years.

Collins has indicated he will not seek the job full time.

“I appreciate the opportunity to serve the county where I grew up and I look forward to working with whoever wins the office of judge-executive to ensure a seamless transition,” Collins said.

Beshear’s office said Collins will fill the term until the results of the general election are certified.

Recently, the Lewis County Republican Party endorsed Todd Ruckel for judge-executive while the Lewis County Democratic Party endorsed Anita Gilbert for judge-executive.

According to Debbie Kennard, Vice-Chair of the Lewis County Democratic Party, Gilbert was the only democrat seeking the nomination. Gilbert unsuccessfully ran for the office in 2010.

The voters of Lewis County will choose between Ruckel and Gilbert in the general election in November.

In his bid for congress, Massie will face William R. Adkins, a Democrat, in the November General Election for the 4th Congressional District seat.

The 4th Congressional District is comprised of Greenup, Lewis, Bath, Boone, Boyd, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Kenton, Mason, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Scott and Trimble Counties.

Wayne Allen may be reached at 740-353-3101, ext. 208, or wallen@heartlandpublications.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com