Last updated: June 09. 2014 7:16PM - 509 Views

Submitted PhotoSaturday nigh action at Portsmouth Raceway Park
Submitted PhotoSaturday nigh action at Portsmouth Raceway Park
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Sports Release

Another big crowd crammed into Portsmouth Raceway Park Saturday night for the second race of the 2014 season. Fans witnessed hard racing and saw speeds that were spectacular with most Late Model competitors averaging over 110 mph; some saw 120 mph.

Ben Adkins took the Late Model A-Main. Rick Hensley won the Modified feature. Mike Meyers prevailed in the Limited Lates, and 19-year-old Zach Pendleton from Stout won the Bomber A-Main.

After finishing second a week earlier, Adkins returned to dominate the Giovanni’s Pizza Late Model Feature on Saturday leading every circuit of the 25-lap event. With the victory, Adkins moved atop the leaderboard in PRP’s Wesbanco Point Standings and will now begin to prepare for this coming Saturday’s 3rd Annual Boone Coleman Memorial “Gator 50” in which the winner will pocket $5,000 and receive a provisional starting spot in this October’s Dirt Track World Championship paying $2,000 just simply to start.

As most race winners do, Adkins thanked many people in victory lane, but most notably, he thanked his car owner Gary Pummill, who has been in attendance in each of the first two PRP races despite having had heart surgery just over three weeks ago.

Josh Bocook wound up with his second straight top-3 finish to start the season. His brother Nick Bocook placed third, while two-time track champ Bob Adams, Jr. finished fourth and reigning track champion Rod Conley charged up from 10th to place fifth.

Rick Hensley captured the RW Rental and Supplies Modified A-Main. The veteran driver began on the outside pole, took the lead early, and fought an extremely tight race car all the way to the end. Doug Adkins, Todd Robinson, Andy French, and Brian Skaggs rounded out the top 5.

Mike Meyers made it two for two, as he has now won each of PRP’s first two O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Late Model A-Mains. Meyers was dominant throughout the night leading every lap of his heat and every lap of the feature. Dillon Huron, Evyian Terry, Tommy Twinam, and Tracy Ross made up the remainder of the top 5.

The M & M Inflatables Bomber feature saw teenager Zach Pendleton win his first-ever PRP feature. Pendleton got past Ironton’s Rick Butler on lap five and held on to win the 12-lap race. Butler and Bo McCarty made up the rest of the top 3.

Late Models, Modifieds, Limited Lates, and Bombers will all be present this coming Saturday for the Boone Coleman Memorial “Gator 50”. Gates will open at 4 p.m. Racing will start at 7:30.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com