Last updated: April 14. 2014 8:33PM - 535 Views

Submitted PhotoAction at Atomic Speedway
Submitted PhotoAction at Atomic Speedway
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio-Danny Smith celebrated his 40th year in racing with a win in the Pine Tree Towing 410 Sprint cars, and R.J. Conley found victory lane in the Gullion Ent.

Initially, in the Late Model feature, family patriarch Delmas Conley rode a close second, but R.J. proved to be the cream of the crop. Still in second, Delmas had lapped nearly as many cars as the leader, but was involved in a turn three crash with Lauren Longbrake. Chris Garnes, the defending AMRA Champion, running a strong third suffered the same fate a lap later after nearly flipping off turn two before regaining control.

While Conley’s lead had appeared insurmountable, the late race cautions changed the complexion of the event. Conley had to hold off the charges of Greggie Oliver over the last three laps to bring home the win. Behind R.J. Conley and completing the top ten were Greg Oliver, Hot Rod Conley, Jason Montgomery, Kevin Wagner, Nick Bocook, Nick Latham, J.T. Conley, Delmas Conley, and Chris Garnes.

Ryan Broughton got the jump on heat winner and fast-timer Trey Gustin in the 410 Sprint Car main. Broughton led the first five laps. Smith took over on the 6th circuit and led to lap 17 while another great battle developed among the chargers of Broughton, Jimmy Stinson, Josh Davis and Mark Imler.

It took five starts to get the modified main underway. Some of the top dogs of the AMRA were on hand and anxious to make a good impression. Three straight spins sent the field reeling for position until finally a single file restart was summoned.

Both Rick Hensley and Kevin Dulaney, early leaders were victims of spins setting the stage for Kenny Johnson, the five time AMRA champion, to lead. Johnson lead for much of the duration until lap nine when his mounts slowed somewhat entering turn three, stumbled and never quite recovered. Pinkerton won the race.

The C&M Racing Equipment Sport Mods was another competitive event. Mike Brust led the first seven laps. Harley Martin after Brust ran in trouble.

In the street stocks, Tim Cutler made it a clean sweep for the evening. Cutler led twice during the event, jumping out to the early lead, only to have former champ Tommy Mossbarger take the top spot.

At the finish it was Cutler, Jamie Adams, Dean Boyd, Adam Jones, Dave Landman, Tommy Mossbarger, Justin Poling, Larry Highland, Derek Spencer, and Brian McQuay.

The rained-out Fire/EMS/PD Night will be added to the schedule on Saturday July 19th. This will be a $3,000 to win show for the AMRA Late Models and include AMRA Modifieds, Street Stocks and Sport Mods.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com