Last updated: November 26. 2013 12:40AM - 2734 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Cody Leist

PDT Sports Writer

With the end of Wheelersburg’s season coming Saturday night, the SOC announced Monday its list for the best football players in the conference for the 2013 season.

After winning its third-straight SOC II title this season, Valley swept all three of the top honors as Darren Crabtree was named Coach of the Year, Nate Arnett was honored as the Back of the Year while Hayden Dunn took home the honor as the SOC II’s top lineman. Overall, the Indians also placed Zach Shope, Alex Loop, Ethan Clark-Holbrook, Brice Jordan, Caleb Miller and Kyle Miller on the First Team while Ryan Brown, Bryan Rolfe and Dakota Baker were Second Team selections.

On the SOC I list, champion Oak Hill was credited for two top awards as coach Nathan Dugan was the top honoree for his post while Justin Dickens shared the Lineman of The Year award with East’s Tyler Gerald. The Back of the Year went to Notre Dame’s Dakota Smith.

The Oaks placed Garrin Stiltner, Josh Williams, Mason Waugh, Jordan Fisher, Griffen Jenkins, Jonathon Harrison and Willy Harris onto the SOC I First Team. Second Team selections for Oak Hill belonged to Chase Burdine, Elijah Starr and Zach Maynard.

The previously-mentioned Pirates, who finished as the SOC II runner-up, had eight selections on the two rosters. First Teamers included Eddie Miller, Dylan Miller, Tyler Claxon, Camron Parsley and Christian Ellis as Michael Staggs, Mitchell Warner and Austin May were on Second Team.

The remainder of the SOC II First Team included West’s Austin Bricker, Tristan White, Jarrid Speck and Dylan Kuhns, Minford’s Jared McCray, Zach Justice and Levi Jenkins, Waverly’s Amin Gilbert and Tyler Dray while Northwest’s Robbie Arnett rounded out the list. The Second Team was comprised of the Senators’ Jon Howell and Nate Reynolds, the Falcons’ Jack White and Cain Madden, the Tigers’ Connor Smith and the Mohawks’ Blain Honaker and Justin Tackett.

For the Titans, they also placed Jack Kayser, Daniel Ogg, Will Toleman and C.J. Smith on First Team while Rome Tovine, Evan Coriell and Will Haney were Second Teamers. They were one of four teams — including Oak Hill, Valley and Wheelersburg — to advance to the regional playoffs this season.

The remainder of the SOC I First Team was filled by Symmes Valley’s Tyler Rowe, Ben Ferguson, Tyler Celeski and Tyler Dement, the Tartans’ Nick Basham and Akia Brown as well as Green’s Levi Mollett and Clay Applegate. Second Team All-SOC I honors went to the Vikings’ Tanner Mays and Philip Combs, East’s Jordan Bowen and Jeremy Toller and finished by the Bobcats’ Mark Allen.

Cody Leist can be reached at 353-3101, ext. 294, or cleist@civitasmedia.com. For breaking sports news, follow Cody on Twitter @CodyLeist.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com