Last updated: October 23. 2013 8:47PM - 999 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Cody Leist

PDT Sports Writer

After leading her team to a ninth-straight district tournament, South Webster senior Haley Potters was this week named the 2013 Division IV District 14 Player of the Year by area coaches.

Locally, Potters is joined on the First Team by Eastern senior Bailey Helton, junior Jenny Keppler and sophomore Carson Roney as well as Clay senior Annie Hopkins. North Adams junior Rylee Copas rounds out the First Team list with Eastern coach Janet Day receiving Coach of the Year honors.

Second Team honors went to South Webster senior Corey Sherman, Notre Dame senior Madi Phillips and junior Brooke Pierron, Eastern junior Madison Knipp and Paint Valley senior Erin Riley. For Honorable Mention, spots were givien to Clay senior Katie Redding and sophomore Gabby Hickman, Western’s sophomore combo of Erin Brewster and Abby Montgomery, Notre Dame senior Emma Gohmann, New Boston senior Kiersten McGraw, Whiteoak senior McKenzee Martin and sophomore Emma Wardlow, Manchester junior Keisha Palmer and sophomore Morgan Johnson as well as North Adams senior Brittany Stout and junior Kayla Baker.

In Division III, Wheelersburg senior Maggie Stegman and Piketon senior Aleah Pelphrey were named to First Team along with Chillicothe Huntington junior and District Player of the Year Alayna Lytle and her senior teammate Halie Ingram, Adena juniors Kirsten Dawson and Karli Bower as well as Peebles junior Annie McFarland. The Second Team awards went to Northwest junior Haleigh Vastine, Chillicothe Southeastern junior Emily Dresbach, Sardinia Eastern senior Carina Reeves and junior Shelby Cowdrey.

For Third Team, Wheelersburg junior Brooklyn Adams and sophomore Marley Hanzel made the list along with Adena senior Bridgette Scaggs and junior Jenna Hutton, West Union’s Emily McCarty and Huntington freshman Rikki Magill. Northwest junior Brooke Miller, Southeastern junior Logan Goebel, Huntington sophomore Dylana Gragg and Lynchburg-Clay freshman Shelby Marshall were tabbed Honorable Mention. Adenda’s Laura Smith was honored as Coach of the Year.

In Division II, Waverly seniors Bri Wiget and Hannah Martin were First Team honorees along with the Washington Court House senior trio of Emily Bath, Tori Merritt and Kimmy Luebbe as well as Zane Trace seniors Hayley Carle and Kylan Strausbaugh. Carle was named Player of the Year while Coach of the Year went to Waverly’s Nancy Terry.

Waverly’s Kayla Riffe was placed on Second Team along with Miami Trace seniors Mariah Mace and Morgan Wyckoff, Zane Trace senior Jillian Thomas and Logan Elm’s Tiffany Pontius. Junior Ashley Burton of Waverly was named Honorable Mention with Logan Elm freshman Tabitha Pontious, Washington Court House junior Emma Anderson and Zane Trace junior Alyx Chaffins.

Locally, Potters, Helton, Hopkins, Sherman, Phillips, Pelphrey, Stegman, Wiget, Martin and Riffe will all participate in their respective district all-star matches. Pelphrey will also be a state representative.

Cody Leist can be reached at 353-3101, ext. 294, or cleist@civitasmedia.com. For breaking sports news, follow Cody on Twitter @CodyLeist.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com