Last updated: October 16. 2013 9:27PM - 944 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PDT Sports Report

Portsmouth Raceway Park will host the 33rd annual Dirt Track World Championship this weekend and fans are already flocking into Scioto County from far and wide.

This is the second straight year the Dirt Track World Championship has been held in Portsmouth. The event will bring some of the country’s very best Late Model drivers, who will all be gunning for the $50,000-prize that will go to the feature winner on Saturday.

Some of the drivers expected to be on the scene for this Lucas Oil Series finale include the 2013 series champ Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn. along with fellow Tennessean Scott Bloomquist. Arkansas’ Jared Landers, Billy Moyer, Sr. and Billy Moyer, Jr. are also expected to roll into Scioto County for the weekend as are Indiana’s Don O’Neal, West Virginia’s Eddier Carrier, Jr. and John Blankenship, Florida’s Earl Pearson, Jr., Michigan’s Jeep Van Wormer, and Wisconsin’s Jimmy Mars.

Lucas Oil regular Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky is also scheduled to be at the race as are local favorites like Wheelersburg’s Delmas, Rod, and R.J. Conley; Grayson, Ky’s Jackie Boggs and Josh McGuire; West Portsmouth’s Ben Adkins and Wheelersburg’s Nick and Josh Bocook.

By Wednesday morning, already over 100 motor homes were on the grounds at PRP. Many more are expected to roll in before race time.

The Dirt Track World Championship weekend will begin Thursday with UMP Modifieds. Thursday’s schedule will feature Modified practice laps, time trials, heat races, and consys.

The Lucas Oil Late Models will hit the track Friday with practice laps, time trials and heat races.

On tap for Saturday will be the Late B-Mains, the Modified feature, the Late Model feature as well as the Late Model non-qualifiers race.

Gates will open at 2 p.m. each day. Cars are scheduled to hit the track at 6 p.m. on both Thursday and Friday and at 7 p.m. on Saturday.

Jimmy Owens is the defending Dirt World Track Champion. West Portsmouth’s Ben Adkins was the highest finishing local last season placing fifth. At the age of 70, Wheelersburg’s Delmas Conley won a B-Main at last year’s Dirt World Track Championships. Conley has finished in the top two in each of the last two races at PRP.

Of the 32 previous Dirt World Track Championship winners, five of them are from Ohio. Billy Moyer won the last time the Lucas Oil Series visited Portsmouth, which was the Pepsi 50 ‘River Days Rumble’ held over Labor Day Weekend.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com