Last updated: May 16. 2014 3:30PM - 1315 Views
By - rpratt@civitasmedia.com - 740-353-3101

Travy Ison | Portsmouth Daily TimesSouth Webster Legacy Award recipients
Travy Ison | Portsmouth Daily TimesSouth Webster Legacy Award recipients
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

By Joseph Pratt


South Webster High School held its annual academic luncheon May 15 and honored over 60 students who had either perfect attendance, a 3.4 GPA each grading period, was a member of National Honor Society, an academic scholarship recipient, or a member of valedictorian or salutatorian party. Student academic scholarships totaled around $326,802.

Natalie DeCamp is valedictorian of the 2014 graduating class and was a recipient of over nine awards, four of which were scholarships. DeCamp received $37,200 in scholarship money to attend Wright State University. The majority of DeCamp’s scholarship funds came from Wright State’s Valedictorian Scholarships, which is a renewable $8,900 scholarship. DeCamp said she worked very hard to receive this scholarship and much went into the application process and requirements, from a 4.0 GPA and having valedictorian status to a lengthy essay.

DeCamp said that she was not originally from South Webster, having transferred from East High School in eighth grade

“They took me into their family and we have really worked hard. We struggled in some of our college classes, but we’ve really worked together to make sure we’ve gotten to this point where we are now,” DeCamp said.”

In addition to DeCamp’s scholarship winnings, Courtney Boggs received $1,047 to attend Shawnee State University; Courtney Blanton received $29,047 to attend Ohio Christian University; Courtney Davis received $500 to attend Morehead University; Scott Ferguson received $1,000 to attend Hocking College; Erica Harr received $500 to attend Morehead University; Sylvia Jenkins received $750 to attend Marshall University; Megan Johnson attended $69,492 to attend Miami University; Megan Mays received $8,047 to attend Shawnee State University; Chase Messer received $12,000 to attend Wright State University, Morgan Neff received $420 to attend the University of Rio Grande; Danielle Owens received $43,400 to attend Miami University; Haley Potters received $46,555 to attend Ohio Northern University; Justin Rennick received $30,000 to attend the Trevecca Nazarene University; Corey Sherman received $3,547 to attend Morehead University; Marissa Sherrett received $16,047 to attend Kentucky Christian University and Breanna Stewart received $27,250 to attend the University of Wyoming.

“We are all unique in our own ways,” DeCamp said. “We have an individual who is going into the Navy, one of my very close friends is a pilot and we have several people who plan on going into the medical field. We are also very goofy, but can remain serious at the same time; we know how to pull together. I think it is a great achievement to be at the banquet. It is nice to see how all of our hard work has paid off and we get to celebrate our accomplishments together as a school district.”

Joseph Pratt can be reached at the Portsmouth Daily Times 740-353-3101, EXT 287, or by Twitter @JosephPratt03.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Portsmouth Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com