19th Annual Fred Dillow Memorial hosted by PRP

August 21, 2013

PDT Sports Report

Close finishes, a first-time winner and plenty of crashes were all a part of the action this past Saturday at Portsmouth Raceway Park, as PRP hosted the 19th Annual Fred Dillow Memorial.

Saturday night’s feature winners included R.J. Conley in the Late Models, Jeremy Rayburn in the Modifieds, Robbie Lewis in the Limited Lates and Conard Newman in the Bombers.

The Fred Dillow Memorial brought PRP its largest car count of the season and one of the track’s largest 2013 crowds. A total of 131 race teams filled the pit area – 41 Late Models, 45 Modifieds, 22 Limited Lates and 23 Bombers.

The Dillow Family gathered over 70 sponsors and accumulated in excess of $16,000 – all of which was given back to the drivers during the event.

Pete Holt was the Hard Charger in the Modified A-Main. Jeremy Rayburn was the halfway leader in the Mod feature.

The H & H Continuous Guttering Hard Charger in the Limited Late Model Division was Evyian Terry. The Stephens Towing & Repo Hard Charger in the Bombers was Kenny Aldridge, who also received the Bud Newman Memorial Trophy for advancing the most spots.

Late Model feature winner R.J. Conley was awarded a custom-made Fred Dillow Memorial Mirror from Off-The-Wall Kustom T’s. All A-Main winners received large cardboard checks from Graphic Creations and will receive posters from Mark Bias at Mark’s Photos.

The night also featured three major crashes. Late Model driver Rod Evans slapped the back-stretch wall before being hit head on entering turn three. In another race, Late Model competitor J.T. Conley flew up and over top a spinning Tony Roush before landing back on his tires.

The third major crash saw Shawn Holiday get airborne and crashed head first into the front-stretch catch fence which sent him into a rapid pirouette spin.

R.J. Conley started the Late Model A-Main seventh, climbed to fourth in the first lap, made it to third by lap 9 and passed Drown for the lead on lap 22. Josh McGuire moved up late as he moved from fourth to second on lap 45 of the 50-lap race. McGuire finished as the runner-up with Steve Lucas, Nick Bocook and Steve Casebolt rounding out the top 5.

The Tri-State Industrial Supply Modified A-Main brought a first-time PRP winner. Jeremy Rayburn finally got the Portsmouth Raceway Park monkey of his back. For years Rayburn has been coming to PRP. His father, Tim, use to race there on a regular basis. His mother, Donna, has worked at the track for nearly 20 years and now serves as the track promoter.

Since Jeremy began racing, he has enjoyed a great deal of success as a driver but had suffered nothing but one bad break after another in Portsmouth. His luck finally changed this past Saturday. The defending UMP Ohio State Champion was completely dominant leading all 20 laps.

Todd Robinson, Brian Whiteman, Jimmy Lenex, Jr., and Aaron Pendleton made up the remainder of the top 5.

Robbie Lewis led every lap of the Giovanni’s Wholesale Limited Late Model A-Main. The defending track champ was followed by Matt Melvin, Jamey Adams, Mike Meyers and Cameron Logan.

Conard Newman won the H & H Continuous Guttering Bomber feature. Jeremie Bretz, Corey Lewis, Zach Pendleton and Joe McGinnis rounded out the top 5.

PRP will be back in action this coming Saturday, August 24th as the track will feature Giovanni’s Pizza Late Models, R.W. Rental & Supply Modifieds, O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Lates and M & M Inflatables Bombers. It will be Fan Appreciation Night. Adult general admission prices will be just five dollars. Gate will open at 4 p.m. Racing will start at 7:30.