Three first-time winners at PRP

Yuvona Morrison

June 24, 2013

PDT Sports Report

Rod Conley had enough time to jump from seventh place to claim his first Late Model win of the season at Portsmouth Raceway Park Saturday while Jamey Adams led for 40 minutes to do the same in the Limited Lates.

Jackie Boggs, who won the Late Model dash, held on to the lead for most of the A-main before an incident with Erick Christian caused Boggs to lose part of his rear spoiler and puncture his left front tire. Boggs would not finish the race.

Adams led wire-to-wire in the Limited Lates and did not have a scratch on his car. Something that could not be said for the remaining 21 competitors in the wreck-plagued event as the race was called after 11 of 20 laps because of the time limit.

Jeremie Bretz won the 12-lap Bomber event that featured three different leaders. Just like Conley and Adams, it was Bretz’ first 2013 win at PRP.

Of the four events that took place, Todd Robinson was the only non-first-time winner over the weekend as he won in the Modifieds for the second-straight weekend and third overall of the season. Robinson, who started fifth, was able to get through the blockade of Adam and Luke Jordan, who started on the front row.

The next event at PRP won’t take place until after the Independence Day holiday when the Lucas Oil Late Model Series makes the first of three trips into West Portsmouth this season.

Information from the Portsmouth Raceway Park Media Relations Department contributed to the report. Full racing results are in the SCOREBOARD on Page 12.