PRP racing season opens

May 17, 2013

PRP Press Release

Portsmouth Raceway Park opened up its 2013 season Saturday, May 11, with the annual PRP Kickoff Classic featuring Giovanni’s Late Models, R & W Rental Supply Modifieds, O’Reily Limited Lates as well as M & M Inflatables.

Jackie Boggs, of Grayson Ky., captured the Late Model feature. Adam Jordan of South Webster won the Modified A-Main. Robbie Lewis, of Tollesboro Ky., claimed top honors in the Limited Lates and Brett Carey from Lesage W.Va. took the checkers in the Bomber feature.

Track conditions were fast and drivers had multiple grooves to race. This was evident in the Late Model A-Main, as Boggs and R.J. Conley battled for the lead throughout most of the 25-lap race.

Conley quickly jumped into the lead from the outside pole and led the first 13 laps. The defending PRP track champ was taking the high line through the turns, which left the inside open for Boggs. While Boggs kept pace and would occasionally dive under Conley entering the turns, Conley would carry more momentum off the corners to maintain the lead.

With the help of lapped traffic, Boggs took the lead from Conley on lap 14.

Conley battled back and managed to get by Boggs at the stripe on lap 18, but just as Conley made the pass to retake the point, a caution came out which forced the scoring to revert to the previously recorded lap.

Boggs went back to the front for the ensuing restart and was dominant in the closing laps. Conley held on for second. Jason Montgomery, Rod Conley, and the night’s fast qualifier Kenny Christy rounded out the top five.

The R & W Rental Supply Modified A-Main was owned by Adam Jordan. The former PRP track champion won his heat, started on the pole of the feature and led all 20 laps of the A-Main in his Jordan Heating & Cooling No. 13.

The rest of the top five was Jeremy Hayes, Luke Jordan, Allen Turner and Tony DeHart. Davey Warnock, of Flemingsburg Ky., was The Markwest Hydrocarbon Hard Charger. Warnock advanced 12 positions to move from 20th to eighth.

Robbie Lewis continued his winning ways in the Limited Lates, as the reigning track champion picked up right where he left off from a season ago. Lewis led every lap of the feature and was never seriously challenged. Making up the rest of the top five were Mike Steele, Cameron Logan, Matt Cook, and Tommy Twinam.

Brett Carey took the checkers in the Bomber A-Main. Carey led every lap but had company up front throughout the entire race, as Conard Newman finished a close second. Shane Pendleton, Zach Pendleton, and Craig Naylor closed out the top five.

PRP will be back in action Saturday. Gates will open at 4 p.m. Racing will get underway at 7:30. For more details, visit online at www.portsraceway.com.


1. 4B-Jackie Boggs

2. 71C-R.J. Conley

3. 21-Jason Montgomery

4. 71R-Rod Conley

5. C7-Kenny Christy

6. 1B-Nick Bocook

7. B1-Josh Bocook

8. 21-Kenny Howell

9. 33-Kevin Wagner

10. 71-Delmas Conley

11. 9F-Mark Frazier

12. 71J-J.T. Conley

13. 11-Billy Gullion

14. 11-Brian Daniels

15. A55-Bob Adams, Jr.

16. 17C-Tommy Carlton

17. 26-Josh Hall

18. 17T-Shannon Thornsberry


1. 13-Adam Jordan

2. 35-Jeremy Hayes

3. 13J-Luke Jordan

4. A1-Allen Turner

5. 35-Tony DeHart

6. 35-Craig Christian

7. 3-Gary Hall

8. L4-Davey Warnock

9. 59-Weasel Rhodes

10. CR12-Danny Ferguson

11. P20-Ervin Vance

12. 11-Adam Colley

13. 19-Walt Mayabb

14. 7-Doug Adkins

15. 610-Matt Edmisten

16. 4-Chris Shelton

17. 29-Billy Lanthorn

18. 3-Claude Spence

19. 3-Jody Puckett

20. 1-Jake Bickers

21. 19-Joseph Adkins


1. 44-Robbie Lewis

2. 555-Mike Steele

3. 68-Cameron Logan

4. 18-Matt Cook

5. 5-Tommy Twinam

6. 08-Brandon Conkel

7. 58-Evyian Terry

8. 97-Kevini Terry

9. 44-David Grubb

10. J21-Jost Stamm


1. 3-Brett Carey

2. 27-Conard Newman

3. 88-Shane Pendleton

4. 24Z-Zach Pendleton

5. 23-Craig Naylor

6. 29-Kenny Taylor

7. 1-Randy Cline

8. 68D-Mike Drake

9. 44-Corey Lewis

10. 12K-Jeremy Cassidy

11. B9-Jeremy Brady

12. 51-Cole Cooper

13. 21-Jason Spillman

14. 55-Robert Black

15. 10-Justin Miller

16. 58-Rick Bush